~ Fundamentals of Yoga

“Make Yoga Yours & Discover the Divinity in You!”. There are 4 types of Yoga (योग) — Bhakti (Devotion),Karma (Action),Gyan (Knowledge), & Raja (Meditation) Yoga. A true Yogi/Yogini combines the different approaches to suit his/her needs (customization) to realize the Divine!

When the five body sensors are still, when the mind is still, when intellect is still, that is called highest state by the wise.

Yoga is this complete stillness in which one enters in sense of unity state never to become separate again. If one is not established in this true, the sense of unity will come and go.

The four yoga are not mutually exclusive of each other. Yoga at a higher level can be anything that leads you to divinity.

For full description, see informative clip from ‘HinduStudentAssociation’ below to find out 4 types of yoga, which is also given in text here.

Four types of primary Yoga :

1. Bhakti (Devotion) Yoga : Experiencing divinity through  singing/Dancing/Listening the praises of the Divine/Chanting/Surrendering self to divine.

2. Karma (Action) Yoga : Self-less service- By acknowledging the divinity  in everyone/By regarding all actions as worship.

“The best form of service is the service that is performed without being attached to the fruits of one’s activities. One should act as a matter of duty because by working without attachment one attains the divine” – Bhagwad Gita, Chapter 3, Verse 19.

3. Gyan (Knowledge) Yoga: Experincing the divine by meditating on scriptural teachings to realize the truth from untruth. Through Viveka (inner sense),by experincing inner knowledge and insight one can differentiate between Eternal & Temporal.

“The syllable “OM” ॐ  is the Brahman, the impersonal absolute of Hinduism. Realizing it, one finds complete fulfilment of all of ones longings. – Katha Upanishad , Chapter 2 , Verse 15.

4. Raja (Meditation) Yoga: Yoga cultivates the mind before one starts the practice of meditation. Yoga sutras of Patanjali promotes living a moral life, Purification of the body through Hatha yoga and Pranayama. Detachment from sense objects (vasanas/desire) and prepares mind to meditation.

“When the mind has been trained to remain fixed on a certain internal or external location, there comes to it the power of flowing in an unbroken current, as it were, towards that point. This is a Dhyana (Meditation)” – Raja Yoga , Swami Vivekananda.

“Make Yoga Yours and Discover the divinity in You!”

Watch- What exactly is Yoga?

See my other related posts:

For more interesting posts , follow Globindian Blog @ Facebook and @ Twitter

Image credit:  HinduStudentAssociation

Sources: Wikiepdia, Youtube, HinduStudentAssociation Clip, google search, Facebook, Twitter, and other links mentioned in the post.


3 thoughts on “~ Fundamentals of Yoga

Please leave a Reply To Globindian

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s